Posted by: Ed | September 13, 2010

I’D LOVE TO CHANGE THE WORLD and the WEEK that Was

I’m sitting here on Monday morning thinking “WHAT A WEEK!”

My weeks are pretty full normally. They fly by. But this last one was a way more intense than normal. I honestly felt like I want from one cool God-inhabited moment to another to another. It was uncomfortably busy, but all good.

SAN MIGUEL ELEMENTARY – Tuesday: As a part of Seasons of Service in conjunction with SD Cityfest and Luis Palau ministries, we shut our offices down and went to serve one of our under-resourced school in our area. It was awesome. There are several Journey-ites that are already working at the school – principle, teachers. God is already at work there. It was fun to come along side and bless them. We cleaned out a resource room that had LOTS of stuff to sort through. It was an awesome time.

HAITI TEAM SEND OFF – Thursday: We sent another team off to Haiti. This in some ways is our first team to actually start working IN our partnership church and with our orphanage. I’m praying they finish strong and come back and stoke our “Impulse one” fires.

MI CUMPLEANO – Friday: I took the morning off to surf. I then had to schedule a week or so to read all the really nice b-day wishes on Facebook. Thanks. You are all too nice. It also happens to be the anniversary of two of my best friends, Bill & Trevo Yaccino. I preformed their wedding ceremony (it was huge) in Omaha in (are you ready for this) 1988!

WEDDING – Saturday at 8:30: Yes, you read it right, 8:30. Allen and Joan scheduled their wedding for 8:30 to accommodate SD Cityfest. God totally rewarded them with a wonderful sense of His presence at the wedding.

SD CITYFEST – Saturday: I joined thousands of other people and made my way to SD Cityfest on Saturday. It was an AMAZING day. There were thousands there. It was a privilege to hear one of the most anointed evangelists of our generation, Luis Palau. Kirk Franklin was crazy. But of course the best part was seeing SO MANY PEOPLE GIVE THEIR LIVES TO JESUS! The other BEST PART was knowing that this is only a beginning. I think Cityfest has been one of those “new normal” moves.


SERVICES – Friday/ Sunday: Powerful services at Journey this weekend. Brian Berry destroyed in bringing the message! He landed the series big time. Our worship team brought it! And we gave a Haiti update and sold a few T-Shirts, as in ALL OF THEM, as in we raised about 17 thousand dollars – all without taking an offering! Cool.

I’m heading to the desert this week. I need to catch my breath!

Responses

  1. Happy Thanksgiving,Ed, from a former “Journey-Man.” My work has lately taken me to Temecula, but I still check in with Journey on-line for spiritual balance.
    Here are two poems for you on this Thanksgiving.
    Your Brother in Christ, David.
    INVICTUS
    William Ernest Henley
    (Humanist)
    Out of the night that covers me,
    Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
    I thank whatever gods may be
    For my unconquerable soul.

    In the fell clutch of circumstance
    I have not winced nor cried aloud.
    Under the bludgeonings of chance
    My head is bloody, but unbowed.

    Beyond this place of wrath and tears
    Looms but the Horror of the shade,
    And yet the menace of the years
    Finds and shall find me unafraid.

    It matters not how strait the gate,
    How charged with punishments the scroll,
    I am the master of my fate;
    I am the captain of my soul.

    # Self-sufficiency
    # “God helps those who help themselves” (not in the Bible, despite popular opinion)
    # What we can do

    MY CAPTAIN
    Dorthea Day
    (Christain)
    Out of the night that dazzles me,
    Bright as the sun from pole to pole,
    I thank the God I know to be
    For Christ the conqueror of my soul.

    Since His the sway of circumstance,
    I would not wince nor cry aloud.
    Under that rule which men call chance
    My head with joy is humbly bowed.

    Beyond this place of sin and tears
    That life with Him! And His the aid,
    Despite the menace of the years,
    Keeps, and shall keep me, unafraid.

    I have no fear, though strait the gate,
    He cleared from punishment the scroll.
    Christ is the Master of my fate,
    Christ is the Captain of my soul.

    # Total dependence on God
    # “Justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ” (Romans 5:1)
    # What Christ has done


Leave a Reply

Categories

