Posted by: Ed | October 7, 2009

WEEKEND EXTRA – QUOTES U AX-ED 4

Several of you – really – asked for the quotes that were in the message. Well, I aim to please. They are great quotes.

The 1st is from Charles Spurgeon – the great 19th century preacher:
Fits of depression come over the most of us. Cheerful as we may be, we must at intervals be cast down. The strong are not always vigorous, the wise not always ready, the brave not always courageous, and the joyous not always happy.

Spurgeon actually has numerous quotes on despondency. He was one who had great struggles with what Elijah dealt with.

This one is from the excellent book, Invitation To A Journey by Robert Mulholland. Bob (I call him Bob, since I’ve never met him) is a New Testament prof at Asbury (click here for info on him)

“The process of becoming conformed to the image of Christ takes place primarily at the point of our unlikeness to Christ’s image. God is present to us in the most destructive aspect of our cultural captivity. God’s involved with us in the most imprisoning bondage of our brokenness. God meets us in those places of our lives that are most alienated from God.”

Worth pondering!

Responses

  1. Thank you. Bob’s (heck – I’ll be familiar too) quote is BRILLIANT. Now I remember why I wanted it.

  2. “The process of becoming conformed to the image of Christ takes place primarily at the point of our unlikeness to Christ’s image. God is present to us in the most destructive aspect of our cultural captivity. God’s involved with us in the most imprisoning bondage of our brokenness. God meets us in those places of our lives that are most alienated from God.” -RB

    This is so unbelievably upside down, yet totally profound. I honestly felt my heart inside my body responding to your message when you read this. Its so real that I want to create a new word –“profoundifity” for it. My entire being was yearning, feeling, being “AMEN” when you discussed this.

    I honestly dislike this part of my human-ness most of all, but still it’s true that I am, are, is, was, were, be, being, become the most of who I am in my most horrible failures. I don’t know why and don’t like it… but it is what it is… I am most me and also most able to be open to Christ in these moments.

  3. @Megan: You are onto something! Your “word” actually exists: profundity (being profound)

    This is the crux of the verse that states that our weaknesses reveal his strength… and reveal our deepest need for His mercy and grace.

    Ciao!

  4. Megan – what a beautiful, beautiful response. Straight from the heart and gut. Not only is this where we find Christ, I think this is where find each other – in the “good, bad and ugly” of our authentic-ness. (Don’t know if that is a word… – let’s just create our own language. Ed did in the title of his post!)

  5. While away at a Men’s Prayer Summit I was reading, journaling, etc. And I happened to be reading Charles Spurgeon as well. I thought I would share it for those interested:

    Still waters run deep… That silence is golden indeed in which the Holy Spirit meets with the souls of his saints. Not to raging waves of strife, but to peaceful streams of holy love does the Spirit of God conduct the chosen sheep.. Our Lord leads us beside these “still waters”; we could not go there of ourselves, we need his guidance, therefore is it said, “he leadeth me.”

    Have you gone on a walk and then sat down on a creek bed or the side of a crystal clear stream (or a lake)? The next thing you do is to take your shoes off and dip your feet into the flowing cool waters. At first, it might seem too extreme of a difference in temperature to your feet. But after awhile, not only do you get used to it, but the soles of your feet are soothed by the quiet babbling stream. It’s more than a “Kodak moment”; it can be a real life experience.

    Yes, He leads us besides the quiet stream. It is there that He restores our soul. Need cooled off? Push that pause button and dip your soul into the ocean of His great love and rest for a bit. Then you will be renewed to get back up and begin another leg of your journey.

    Charles Spurgeon

    Rest, We will Never Rest Until We Find Our Rest In God. Amen!

    Steven J

  6. Thanks for these most excellent quotes, Ed. I just couldn’t write them
    down fast enough last Sunday!


Leave a Reply

Categories

