Posted by: Ed | June 16, 2009

DARK KNIGHT & The WEEKEND that Was

This was a pretty stellar weekend. It was odd, throughout a basically joyous weekend; I kept having reminders that we are in spiritual war-zone. Death & evil does not take Kingdom movement without a little pushback – marriages that look they are failing, people struggling with loss, finances frayed because we still can’t find work, “this chemo is knocking me on my **%.”
•    CONGRATS TO SMART PEOPLE – Jason Denison our worship pastor & T.C. Porter (is a part of Journey & is leading a missional church plant called Adams Ave Crossing) both graduated from Bethel Seminary on Saturday. It was great to be with them – the commencement went a little long… I just got home in time for Sunday services. I know what this took. I’m proud of you guys. They both did seminary married, with kids & while serving.
•    WORSHIP – REVELATION SONG RUINED ME. I love how the Holy Spirit is free to do as He pleases. On Sunday, I’m minding my own business thinking – bummer we’re only doing 3 songs today. When our band leads us in this song called Revelation Song. I just got overwhelmed. I’m standing there, weeping out of now where… then Emily leads us in this line: “Filled with wonder, Awestruck wonder, At the mention of Your Name, Jesus, Your Name is Power, Breath, and Living Water, Such a marvelous mystery…” As my Italian phrase uttering friend Don Solin would say, MARONE! O the marvel, the wonder that we are included in this!

_DSF7826 copy
•    THE DANCE ROCKED – Pam Turner et al put together a powerful dance woven with scripture that preached the message before I even said a word.

_DSF7860 copy_DSF7890 copy

•    THE MESSAGE – way long. Sorry. The subject was a weird balance of eminent practicality & philosophical reflection. The movie really raises a question that is worth wrestling with and is all over the Bible: Can we live I a world filled with evil without becoming evil? How is it that we can overcome evil with good?

_DSF7937 copy
•    BEACH BAPTISM – by far the highlight of the weekend was what I’m starting to call the “BEACH BAPTISM FIESTA!”

Baptism 4

I think about 75 people were baptized. There were so many “only God” stories. Someone with an 18-year meth addiction – “I will restore the years the locusts have eaten.” A new believer (about 28) with his 80 year old grandfather, Baptism 3 2 twin guys in Jr High that showed up late & insisted I get back in & dunk them. Nick got some sweet ink in celebration of his upcoming baptism. Baptism 1 As I was walking down to the water, I saw Jim Hammond, our stellar technical arts director grinning. We kind of shoved each other & said, “this is why we do this!” I do think a view that I get, that I wish I could share with you is watching that people on the beach.Baptism 6 I see people who have invested & sacrificed & prayed – there were a couple of great examples from Real Life of this. The look on their face as their friends stand in that water is absolutely priceless. Baptism 2
•    SURF REPORT – it has been a blast lately. A nice south swell rolled in last week & it’s been mucho fun, especially today.

I’m looking forward to next weekend.

Here’s some extra pics

Baptism 8_DSF7871 copy

Responses

  1. There was so much in this weekend’s sermon – the ideas and scriptures swirl around in my head like the very bats I dreamt of Saturday night.

    Everything you said (and I heard it 2.5 times) seems to echo current themes in my life and in my bible readings this week. What I notice is that I must constantly “work out” the subtle, insidious stuff within in me and it’s not easy… And of course, revenge is like spitting and having the wind blow it back in your face.

    It was amazing to be at the Baptism six months after my own. I’m still in awe of what I experienced and those I witnessed yesterday. Just as profound to me is the community I have found since taking that first step into the water. A friend told me that getting Baptized would be like diving into the pool instead of just putting your toe in. She was right. Once you’re in the water, you don’t want to get out. I feel so blessed.

    And finally, I follow football not basketball but last night saw most of the game. And all I can say is Kobe Bryant is one heck of an athlete!


Leave a Reply

Categories

