Posted by: Ed | February 18, 2009

DAY OF FASTING – update on J-Up 2.0

There are a lot of people around here who are seeking the Lord in prayer & fasting today getting ready for the final weekend of Journey Up 2.0 (a.k.a. commitment weekend).  As I was leaving the gym Ginna, a regular commenter here, told me she can’t wait to hear what God might say to her today.

Here’s a part of my journal for this morning:

THIS WEEKEND: We are seeking You today in large part to see Your presence this weekend in our services & to be led leading up to that time. In that context I read this:
Matt 17:5While he was still speaking, a bright cloud overshadowed them, & behold, a voice out of the cloud said, “this is My beloved Son, w/ whom I am well pleased; listen to Him. What a perfect pic. God, I pray that in the midst of all the words that I am struggling to put together that You would overshadow us & point us to Jesus & cause us to listen to HIM! YES LORD!

Those that are fasting (and even if you are not) today, I’d love to hear what You think God is saying to YOU. Leave a comment!

Responses

  1. I wish I had something cool to report but I don’t. This whole Journey Up thing has been fuzzy for me. I’m slowly gaining more clarity but not enough to verbalize/share. There is one idea I wanted to run by you but it’s still too amorphous to articulate. And the others seem too personal to voice yet I wonder if that is just me being wimpy. Is this normal to feel so ambivalent or foggy? Here is this big Journey thing and I feel kind of disconnected.

    Someone once said, “when you don’t know what to do, do nothing” because the answers always emerge in their own organic way. I hope so.

    Talk about being an intellectual pygmy — I didn’t realize, or it didn’t quite sink in — that Jesus quoted scripture. (Duh!!!! He is the son of God). This hit me like a meteor this week. I always think of Jesus as Kind Man, or Wise Man, or Courageous/Radical Man or Story/Healer guy but not as Scholar. How cool is that? This just tickles me.

  2. Hi Ed, As part of my fasting I was drawn to Psalm 46 and wrote the following in my journal:

    God as we wait here may You cause Your Kingdom to grow, expand and challenge each person here to know You in a new and fresh way. Challenge us to recognize that You will come again (Sure Hope), in the meantime, Your name will be exalted in all the earth. Your Name Will Be Exalted within our community of Christ Followers. You have triumphed and won us over therefore we will not fear because the Omnipotent God is with us. Deep down we know that nothing can be accomplished without Your grace, love and empowerment. Bring us to that place of sweet surrender so we can participate in the wave of Your glory passing over all the earth.

    We’ve been given a heart (God’s Heart) to lean into… We’ve been given a hand (God’s Hand) to hold. May ALL the reasons we don’t act fall down until the only reason to do anything remains — For Your Honor, Glory and Renown in all the earth. We are still before YOU waiting for YOU longing for YOU drawn ever to the Presence of our loving God who is with us at every step.

    Steven Johnson
    Journey Prayer Ministries

    Psalm 46

    1 God is our refuge and strength,
    an ever-present help in trouble.

    2 Therefore we will not fear, though the earth give way
    and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea,

    3 though its waters roar and foam
    and the mountains quake with their surging.
    Selah

    4 There is a river whose streams make glad the city of God,
    the holy place where the Most High dwells.

    5 God is within her, she will not fall;
    God will help her at break of day.

    6 Nations are in uproar, kingdoms fall;
    he lifts his voice, the earth melts.

    7 The LORD Almighty is with us;
    the God of Jacob is our fortress.
    Selah

    8 Come and see the works of the LORD,
    the desolations he has brought on the earth.

    9 He makes wars cease to the ends of the earth;
    he breaks the bow and shatters the spear,
    he burns the shields [b] with fire.

    10 “Be still, and know that I am God;
    I will be exalted among the nations,
    I will be exalted in the earth.”

    11 The LORD Almighty is with us;
    the God of Jacob is our fortress.
    Selah

  3. I’m 3,000 miles away, and haven’t been fasting…but I do have a voice telling me “Trust me” and “Work to find me”. I’m finding it harder to trust that to find… normal, right?

  4. Oops, the me’s should be MEs.


Leave a Reply

Categories

