Posted by: Ed | November 5, 2008

AN OPEN LETTER TO PRESIDENT-ELECT OBAMA

Dear President Elect Obama,

Congratulations on a your victory!

ph2008110500568

Regardless of the differences of ideology or views on policy, one can’t help but feel a great sense of pride in our nation and how far we have come. I know from your moving speech that you are aware that you represent something bigger than any one man. You represent hope that a nation can move beyond the sins of it’s past.

Let me assure you of our prayers. We are commanded to pray for our leaders (1 Timothy 2:2). I personally will pray for you & lead people in our church to do the same.
–    I pray that you will fear God more than man
–    I will pray for moral courage to do the right thing & clarity to know what that is.
–    I will pray that you read the Scriptures and submit your mind to them; I pray that you will pray often seeking guidance; I pray that you will find a good church & surround yourself with spiritual advisors who really know God.
–    I pray for your family that you & Michelle will be able to raise your precious daughters in the “nurture & admonition of the Lord.” (see Ephesians 6:4)
–    I pray that you will reconsider your position on defending the rights of the most helpless & voiceless of society, the unborn.  Any nation is only as great as its treatment of the vulnerable. I pray God that you will search the scriptures & know God’s mind on this critical issue. If you do by the way, I think you may be surprised at the lasting political coalition you could build.
–    Finally, I pray for your soul’s sake, that you will not be led into temptation. I pray that you will resist the pride that must come with this kind of position. I pray that you will remember that like the rest of us, you are only a man who will stand before God one day, as a man, not as President. And like all of us you will give an account. May you have the humility that invites the grace of God. May you resist the pride that God opposes. (1 Peter 5:5).

May God bless our nation and may He bless you & your family.

Grace and Peace to you,

Ed Noble

Responses

  1. I am in agreement with your letter and prayers. As Christ Followers we have an opportunity and responsibility to pray for our leaders according to 1 Tim 2:1-8. And when we pray, God can do amazing things, immeasurably more type things when we seek Him with our whole hearts.

    I will be praying Psalm 72 for Barak Obama and our leaders – may they be leader(s) who bring peace and justice along with relief from oppression, poverty and violence — providing outcomes that transcend the quagmires of issues that faces our nation.

    Lord, help our President to rule your people with justice and righteousness. Give us a just government and our leaders the wisdom to know right from wrong. Please help our nation and assure the people that our nation will prosper and benefit from their gifts and leadership. Bless our leaders with good health and safety from all forms of violence and evil, Inspire our leaders to lead in ways that provide enduring peace, stability and a well founded and lasting moral order. Convict our government leaders of the preciousness of every human life. Give them compassion toward the poor, helpless, weak and needy so that they will consider themselves servants of the people. May they be a source of goodness, blessing and growth in Jesus Matchless Name, Amen.

    Commited to Praying for our leaders,
    Steven Johnson

  2. You put into words what I was unable to articulate within my own soul last night, There has been a horrible injustice done in our country, and perhaps this election will bring some hope to the disenfranchised. I have had to look at my own sinful prejudices that cropped up during this election and confess them to God, the creator of all people. Thank you for reminding me to pray for our new President, for our nation, for the world. I know we cannot rely on any man to bring the kind of change we need, so I will continue to look to my true leader and see what my role will be during this new season in our nation. We all have something to contribute.

  3. ed. your prayer moved me to tears.

    Lord, I pray in total agreement to the words that came from Ed’s heart. Please place a conviction in the hearts of Christ-followers like myself who do not spend nearly as much time praying for our leaders as we should. Please bless our new president, and draw his heart and his eyes to You. Only then will we see real change in our Nation. Amen.

  4. Well written. Thanks for writing and speaking from your heart. I’m praying along side you for our nation and leaders.

  5. Ed, Bravo! ~p

  6. Thank you Ed for writting words from my heart also. I will pray for our leaders, and know that God is in control.


Leave a Reply

Categories

