Posted by: Ed | October 15, 2008

VOTE!!!

I almost entitled this post, “IF YOU DON’T VOTE YOU SUCK!” But that seemed a little juvenile. And it may be a little strong. Maybe you are in a coma. Maybe you are in jail. Maybe… o.k. That’s it. Everyone else who calls herself or himself a Christ follower should vote.

It’s not too late to register. You have till October 20th in California. OCTOBER 20!!!! Less than a week! For info on how to register click here.

John Wesley used to talk about how we should, “do all the good that we can”. Voting is one of the ways that we can “do good” to people. We can participate. We can bring a Biblically informed perspective to issues & choose candidates who reflect our Scripturally informed values.

I know that politics are not the ultimate answer. I did a whole message saying so. I know that “power over” solutions will never solve problems that only the “Power Under Kingdom” of Jesus can solve. I also know that people with the same Bible as mine will come to differing “Biblically informed” positions than I will. But we must speak up & participate if for no other reason than to express that we care.

So for God sake, do 3 things
1.    Register to vote if you haven’t already. You can check on line if you are registered to make sure.
2.    Get informed about where candidates stand & what the ballot initiatives are. Need help? Well give me your sample ballot & I will fill it out for you. No? O.k. Then study up! If you want a right leaning (conservative) Christian take check out the Family Research Council here. If you want a left leaning (liberal) Christian take you can check out Sojourners here. I encourage you to vote your values, to pray & pray for God’s mercy on us as a nation. You no doubt have heard about Prop 8. This is an important issue. But don’t forget Prop 4. For some reason, no one is talking about this critical life issue.
3.    VOTE!

I always get a little emotional when I vote. I think about how unique in history this is. I think about what it represents. I think about what it took to make this happen & keep this thing alive. For Gods Sake, prayerfully VOTE!

Responses

  1. When I was in my twenties I worked in a Jewish orthodox nursing home (no, I’m not Jewish) and many of my patients were Holocaust survivors or had lived through other forms of political/social atrocities prior to immigrating to America. Every voting cycle, it was a HUGE deal for these eighty and ninety year olds to vote. It took hours to transport people in wheelchairs to the lobby area where the polls were set up and some had to be helped reading the ballots due to poor eye sight. They put my generation to shame; many of whom apathetically refused to vote because they wanted to stay in and watch t.v. These elders knew that voting was a gift from God not all people in the world were privileged to have. To this day, I think of them when I vote.

    Voting tip: I like voting absentee so that I never get caught not being able to vote because I’m out of town or can’t remember where my voting poll is located in the neighborhood. I also like to fill the thing out (bubbles vs. punches) in the quiet of my own home vs. trying to punch under pressure.

    Thanks for respecting our individual rights to vote according to our interpretations.

  2. Good “punch” for the vote..thanks for putting both sites on (right and left). Not many Evangelical pastors would have the cahones to do that!

  3. Right on the money. Kudos for drumming up support for the world’s greatest political freedom… being able to make informed personal decisions, and the ability to let those decisions be heard!

    -Either way your views swing, go make a statement and vote-

    p.s. I went to your Fri., 7pm service tonight and was impressed with your speaking skill and talent with metaphors. Great work, your passion for your work comes through.

  4. Ed,

    I was glad to see your voting blog. To be honest I have been a little disappointed that Journey doesn’t seem to be pushing the importance of voting a little more. I know you are encouraging people to register to vote but giving it a little more time before election day would be great. This is such an important election on so many fronts. I was pleased that you did your message on homosexuality, but disappointed that Journey is staying out of the “politics” of this election. One of my friends daughters who in very involved in the high shcool ministry(she is a helper/leader??) told her parents who attend Shadow Mountain that Journey is not getting into the election stuff. She is under the impression that the church has no concrete opinion on the future Pres/Prop 8 etc. I thought that was sad and now am worried about how many other young people at our church feel the same way. I love our church and you are amazing, I just feel like maybe the leadership at Journey could be doing more to make sure people get out and vote and vote from a biblical view. God Bless you Ed.

    Nicole


Leave a Reply

Categories

