Posted by: Ed | September 30, 2008

“HOLDING ON TO INTEGRITY” & THE WEEKEND THAT WAS

One of the fun things about the weekend services at Journey this weekend were the ‘MOMENTS” that just seemed to roll up on us. Here were a few that I experienced:
•    WORSHIP – I don’t know what it was, but sometime in the middle of the 3rd worship song in the 9:00 service there was something like a “whoosh” of the Holy Spirit that seemed to blow through the building. I wasn’t the only one that felt it. I love how God shows up as He pleases in His mercy & grace.
•    TODD TOLSON DID “GRAVITY” – The song by John Mayer was perfect. Todd did it very soulfully. This is a great song. Thanks to Todd.


•    MESSAGE MOMENTS – There were some really cool moments in the midst of the message. I love the Trampoline metaphor – challenges to our integrity are like stealing the bounce when jumping with someone trampoline. In the 10:45 service, there was an anointed moment, here’s what I wrote in my journal:
o    Speaking of whoosh – at 10:45 there was a real moment of anointing on the “save the world via us” point. I didn’t know whether I took it too far of not far enough.

•    A RISING TIDE OF PRAYER AT JOURNEY – There is clearly a rising tide of prayer at Journey. I love what God is doing & the rising tide is both as evidenced by and a result of God’s work. I probably prayed with close to a dozen people between, before & after services. There are people praying during the services. We started a class called “HEALING THE WHOLE PERSON” which is about prayer for healing. We had 60 people show up that’s without an announcement.
•    GOD’S GRACE TO OVERCOME – Rod Kaya showed up to host the services on Sunday with a Rader’s shirt on. Somehow the Lord still moved. It’s rare to hear “boos” in a church, but Rod garners them a couple of times per year. When will he learn!

There were some other fun things about this weekend for me personally.
√ Great football party at Kenny &Alex’s house watching the Chargers have at least one good quarter (that was all they needed).
√ Surf picked up on Saturday & not that many people seemed to get the word – muy fun.
√ I hate going to Home Depot – I had to go today (Monday) again. Every time I vow I will never go again. I feel like an alien there. I rarely really know what I’m doing and it always takes, no exaggeration, 3x the time that I expect.
√ Free Air Show – For some reason out in the water today the Blue Angels flew over twice. They were flying very low & seemed to be mere feet from each other.

Hope you had a great weekend.

I’ll try to add some more pics tomorrow.

Responses

  1. I dug the “save the world via us.” I’ve been camping out in Martin Luther King Jr.’s writings and sermons. when he wrote from Birmingham jail, reflecting on the early church, he said, “The church was not merely a thermometer that recoded the ideas and principles of popular opinion; it was a thermostat that transformed the mores of society.”

    “Human salvation lies in the hands of the creatively maladjusted.” MLK JR.


Leave a Reply

Categories

