Posted by: Ed | September 2, 2008

SIGNIFICANCT VIA PRAYER & THE WEEKEND THAT WAS

We wrapped up a series this weekend called “Significant”. It was really quite a cool series. They were lots of cool things throughout this series that I liked
•    SIGNIFICANCE VIA SERVING and the MINISTRY EXPO – We are still following up all the 1st time serving people. The response was cool.
•    SECRECY – I don’t think I ever taught directly on this. It was fun & it had lots of life in my own life. I see so much image management in my own life. There have been several times in the last couple of weeks that God has said to me, “This is just between us.”
•    TODD STEPPING IN – Todd Tolson stepped in last week & did a great message. I listened to the CD on Tuesday. It was insightful, funny, challenging. Thanks Todd!
•    SIGNIFICANCE AS A PRIMAL SOUL NEED – I am glad the Lord led me to this concept the 1st week. Part of this thought was shaped by psychologist Larry Crabb’s idea that we are all unconsciously strategizing for security & significance. I really think that this is part of the Imago Dei. I love preaching on stuff that you know that people have felt their whole life, but have perhaps never put words to.

•    LEADERSHIP SUMMIT – that was this month & was like rocket fuel to my soul. I’m still processing some of the talks. I sense they will reverberate through our community for a while.
•    THE WEDDING – I’m still taking this one in. See a couple of posts ago.

THIS WEEKEND: We talked about significance through the practice of prayer. The challenge is staying focused. There is so much that can & should be said in any talk on prayer. Here are a few highlights.
•    THE PRAYER STATIONS – we planned this weekend to feel a little like our Good Friday services – shorter message & some kind of spiritual practice / activity & communion.  I was worried about the “new to church” people. When I first started going to Church I was afraid of being asked to do stuff that would make it clear that I didn’t know what the heck I was doing. So we try to be sensitive to this. We got to test this right out of the box on Friday when my daughter Bethany showed up with 4 friends, 2 of which had never been to church, the other 2 “veterans” were on their 3rd visit to Journey… They loved it.

•    OBSERVATION: PRAYER IS A FELT NEED. Pretty much everybody prays. I prayed before I knew God. Offering help in something people are already doing is a cool way to connect them to God & join HIM in something He is already doing in their lives.
•    WORSHIP WAS FANTASTIC – We had cool songs; it sounded great & there was extra anointing.
•    ONE DOZEN PRAYER OPPORTUNITIES – we took sign ups in the lobby for prayer opportunities. How cool that there were 12 different tables.
•    WE HAD EXTRA PRAYER PEOPLE MANNING THE VARIOUS PRAYER STATIONS & THE ABOVE MENTIONED TABLES… there seemed to be extra anointing on each message. COINCIDENCE? I got to think of an excuse to get them to be in all the services more often.
•    WEEPING – I was surprised as I cruised around the various prayer deals in the service how many people were crying. With NO prompting or manipulation. Lots of us felt the spirit descend on the room as the peeps were released to pray. Cool!
•    MESSAGE WISE – I felt led to share a story about my brother Dave on Friday, I scribbled it onto my printed notes on my way out of my office. For some reason, this is hard for me to talk about. He died of a drug overdose about 19 years ago (Sept 27). I was assuming that was a leading for Friday. Before each other service a different person specifically told me that story needed to be in the message for that service. Hmmmm.


I’m kind of sad to see this month & this series end. Summer’s over! (for those of you outside of SD, that means the beaches are less crowed & the weather turns, umm, how do you say – perfect)

Of course if you saw the promo video of the series on “The Other Joseph” you, like me are looking forward to next weekend.

Responses

  1. Talk about feeling oneself being guided by the “Holy Spirit” down the path of healing…mmm!
    I was very moved by Friday night’s service. It was an exellent reminder of the power of prayer. I was pulled to the station about brokenness and as I prayed the prayer on the card given to us, I broke down, my heart wide open to God…
    I thought of so many people who had shared with me their painful life’s experiences and in few words, had shared how they felt broken and could never be completely happy. I thought about the moment I accepted Christ in my heart and began my own healing. I continue to heal with God’s help. I end these thoughts by saying, “Thank you Ed for your gentle touch as I walked back to my seat and making me feel I am not invisible.”

  2. Yeah, I’ve been meaning to bring up the ventilation issue in the church. There’s been quite a few times in the last year and a half that my eyes have gotten watery. It was especially bad on Sunday, I’m not sure if it was the combination of the air and the print on the prayer card. I noticed a lot of other people around me having the same problem as me. Seriously, it was a truly beautiful service. A friend from work that had come with us on a prior invitation showed up again and it was wonderful to see her partake in the prayer station as well. Just a really nice weekend, Thanks for making God so real to me, my friends and family.

  3. Thanks for sharing the story of your brother’s decision for Christ in the midst of his struggle. I also have a brother who died of an overdose in 1995. The greatest peace I felt after his death was when one of his buddies told me that some years before, my brother had accepted Christ during one of their desert adventures. I miss him to this day but I’m happy knowing he’s with Jesus and our mom.

  4. Sunday’s service was amazing! For the first time I felt it was ok to become or show some emotion. I tried to hold back tears as I prayed for the children who are forced into slavery. I could barely see cause my eyes were flooded with tears! My heart felt so broken for them. Thank you for the opportunity to take up such a burden and trust God completely with it! The Lord is awesome…he will provide a way of escape!


Leave a Reply

Categories

