Posted by: Ed | August 29, 2008

A GOOD 24 HOURS TO BE AN AMERICAN

I’m not getting political here, but I think today, August 29, 2008, is a great day, a momentous day to be an American & I feel proud.
FIRST: last night it became official: Barack Obama is the Democratic nominee for President of the United States. Whatever you think of the man or his policies, it is a wonderful & I think blessed thing, a marker, that an African-American is running for this office. I was young, but I have memories of Dr. King. I have memories of the struggle & the riots & the racial tension. I know we are far far from where we should be, but we are not where we were. We need to thank God for this milestone.
SECOND: this morning John McCain announced that Sarah Palin, Governor of Alaska will be his running mate. A first for the Republican party (a brilliant strategic move on his part in my estimation) and real statement about inclusion as a value for each side of the political spectrum.
So either way we will make history in the next few months. For the 1st time we will not be electing a couple of white males.
If for no other reason than to be a part of history, make sure that YOU ARE REGISTERED TO VOTE, THAT YOU GET INFORMED & ACTUALLY VOTE!

Thanks, Lord. I recognize this day & it’s events as a blessing on this nation from Your hand. Amen.

Responses

  1. Yes, it’s been a phenomenal and exhilarating 24 hours. I am not a Republican but McCain made a calculated choice indeed. This is a fascinating election. I pray for Divine Order and that regardless of who wins, that the process results in heightened political and social consciousness. Our founding fathers never wanted us to go to sleep but to think, learn and help others. Amen.


Leave a Reply

Categories

