Posted by: Ed | June 13, 2008

AMAZING GRACE & THE WEEKEND THAT WAS

Sorry this is so far past the weekend. I’ve been at our annual staff huddle for the past 3 days & although it is a uber nice place, I had trouble getting on line. So here it is.

I know this is getting a little redundant but we had an incredible weekend at Journey. I got home about 5:00 on Sunday thanking God for the privilege of being a part of it. (Of course my mood soon soured as I watched the Lakers go down 0-2 to the evil Celtics).
• SERVICES – I was blown away at how powerful the service was. When I stood up to begin the message it was almost like I had to say something. What came to me on Friday & I said at all 3 services was, “it feels like we’ve just been on a rollercoaster ride”. I of course meant this in a good way. But it was SO powerful. There was RELENTLESS FOCUS – the songs, the dance, the videos kept leading us to GRACE.
• MESSAGE – I am so inspired by this movie & loved working on this message. May God make us, make me, like those radicals – Clarkson, Wilberforce, Equiano, Marianne Thornton.
• GARY HAUGAN VIDEO – I can’t wait to hear him speak at the Leadership Summit.
• BAPTISM – I don’t exaggerate when I say that this is one of the top days of the year for me. There were so many great stories. I love how many of us showed up at the beach to cheer & support & share in moment. I’ve come to believe that being there, laying hands on the people and praying like we do, is sacramental at some level – grace from God flows to us as we participate in this act of obedience.
• A GREAT STORY IN THE AGUA – One of the moments that I will not soon forget was when we were almost done baptizing people & Kathryn came out. She has recently come to Journey (in the last year or so). She had a crew that came with her. Ralph helped me baptize her. He was baptized about a year ago. With Ralph, Tanya came out, she & her husband Keith brought Ralph & his family. Then there was Kathryn’s husband who just started coming recently. He wasn’t getting baptized… next time ☺ It doesn’t get much better!

Responses

  1. this was the first Journey baptism I attended and I did so to watch my sister and cousin get baptised. Seeing them do so was great, but what was great was how the event was able to be so intimate and yet be in a public place. My wife and I are looking forward to being baptised this year but we chose to not do it this time because my Father and Mother in law were unable to make it (Big Journey and Ed fans btw)and those two have been crucial in our family’s walk with God…but having been to this one, I can’t wait for the next one.


Leave a Reply

Categories

