Posted by: Ed | June 7, 2008

“AMAZING GRACE” message & 2 books on justice

One of the messages that I would love to do this weekend, but will not be able to is about justice and about the equality of people in the sight of God. The movie deals with the slave trade and the faith informed fight for justice that Wilberforce et al engaged in 18th century. God’s heart for justice is all over the Bible. It’s one of the major themes of the prophets in the Hebrew Bible. It’s what Jesus called the “weightier provisions of the Torah”.

If you want to read 2 fantastic books on justice pick up these

Good News About Injustice by Gary Haugen

Gary is the head of IJM, International Justice Mission and is doing wonderful work around the world in combating a variety of injustices especially sexual slavery. My daughter, Charissa and a couple of other students traveled to India to shoot a video curriculum a few years ago. What an eye opening experience. This book has great stories and clearly lays out the God’s heart for justice from the scriptures.

Divided By Faith by Michael O. Emerson & Christian Smith

The subtitle says it all: Evangelical Religion & the Problem of race in America. Let me issue a warning: do not read this book if you just want to have the things that you already think reinforced. This book will rock you and I, for one, found its conclusions inescapable. The format reminded me of some of the books I read for my cultural anthropology classes in my undergrad days. The authors I sympathetic to evangelicals, but this book will set you back on your heals.

BTW – this post could be construed as a pitch to sign up for the leadership summit. Haugen is speaking at the summit this year and I picked up the latter book, Divided, when Bill Hybles talked about it as a must read.

Responses

  1. A friend of mine, who I went to Biola with and who’s a missionary in Africa loved the book “The Good News About Injustice” and recommended it to me a few years ago. It is on my list to read.

    Thanks for sharing the other book ’cause I never heard of it before!

  2. two other books to recommend, specifically on modern-day slave trade:

    Not For Sale: The Return of the Global Slave Trade – and How We Can Fight It
    by David Batstone
    (this is a fantastic book for adults — really readable and compelling – was the official tie-in book to the movie’s “amazing grace campaign”.)

    Be the Change: Your Guide to Freeing Slaves and Changing the World in Other Ways
    by Zach Hunter
    (this book, written by a 15 year-old modern-day abolitionist, is an excellent book for teenagers, and was also an official book of the “amazing grace campaign”.)

  3. Thanks Marko. I think that you are the one the referred me to Gary Haugen’s book in the 1st place. You also had IJM as an actual point on an outline at one of the messages you did a while back. This weekend we have a clip about GH & IJM as a Leadership Summit promo & tie in w/ the message. It’s powerful! C U tomorrow!

    Jen, you’ll love the book!

  4. Your message on Grace was great er…. awesome er… AMAZING!
    When I think about Justice I think about Jesus rebuking the heavy handed religious of his day and offering instead Grace, love, acceptance, forgiveness and freedom from satan’s oppression in EVERY WAY!
    God has put a burning in me for Justice for those oppressed by sickness, disease, demonization and those who die before their time(raising the dead)
    I want to give out Justice the way He did by …..”doing good and healing ALL who were oppressed by the devil”
    I know this is not news to you Ed, but I wonder how many others are out there like me who cannot rest until this kind of injustice is put under the feet of Jesus as it was in His day.
    I am continually astounded by Jesus response when John the Baptist asked if ” Jesus was the one to come or should we look for another….” His
    response in proving to John and the world who He was “….The blind see, the lame walk, leprosy is cured, the deaf hear, the dead are raised and the good news is preached to the poor” To Jesus this was His way of bringing Justice to the world and proof of His being Messiah. He didn’t try to convince John or other people with words only…. and how he fulfilled prophecy about His Being Messiah…..no He demonstrated it!
    God, help us to PRESS INTO JESUS’ ACTIONS OF JUSTICE and bring this kind of Justice to our world.

  5. John,

    What a great comment.

    Would you mind putting your definition of grace up under the post about last weekend.

    Thanks for being a part of my life & the Kingdom.

    I’m the beneficiary,

    Ed


Leave a Reply

Categories

