Posted by: Ed | April 29, 2008

A WEEKEND HIGHLIGHT YOU DIDN’T KNOW ABOUT

Two weekends ago we had a message called Heal Me. It was a great weekend. We actually saw God work powerfully in the bodies of some people as our prayer ministry after the service was overwhelmed with people coming to be prayed for.

This weekend, during the 10:30 service on the 2nd to last worship song, we were proclaiming the Lordship of Jesus Christ. There are times when the Holy Spirit just seems to land on certain songs in worship service. I knew this was one of those. At the Friday night service it was in the last song and the Lord gave me something to say (I digress).

 

I interrupted Jason who I could tell was sensing something similar & we just prayed & proclaimed the Lordship of Jesus over our lives, our circumstances, our bodies. I felt like Jesus was saying: “I’m the Lord, I get to name things! I get to say what they are.” At that point, this came out of my mouth: “you don’t have to wait till after the service to get prayed for. God might want to touch you right now.” We prayed, it was cool. We went on with the service & my ever so brief message.

 

Immediately after the service, a lady sitting in about the 4th row grabbed me & said: “I almost interrupted you!” My 1st thought was, thanks for resisting that impulse. She went on to say she’d come in having been limping around for a month with a strained Achilles tendon & ankle sprain in her left leg. Her foot was severely swollen. At the moment she proclaimed Jesus authority over her own body the pain went way. The swelling went down immediately. She said I wanted to just stand up & shout… That might not have been so bad! 

One addendum: My friend Jeff Dart was preaching on healing at his church (Brookside in Omaha) and I’d been praying for him all weekend. I’m stoked for the faith that he & his team rolling with. 

Responses

  1. And right there is where I go, “Really?” It’s one of the things that is truly distressing about my journey so far. I can’t just go “Halleluhah!” and know that she was healed. On the other hand, that’s what I love about Journey in general and your message in particular. I believe on the weekend of your message “Heal Me” you were talking about just that. I will say this though, I’m at least at the stage of thinking “why not” instead of “no way.” Which is improvement I guess. Just pray for me lol.

  2. Thanks for your honesty. I feel you. I’ve been there. But I think you are making GREAT progress going from “no way” to “why not”. Ask God to bring you from “why not” to “lets go for it”. I think of that prayer that Elisha prayed after Elijah was taken away: “Where is the God of Elijah”. Point: He’s the same God, so let’s go for it.

  3. I have doubted that this is real, even though it has happened to me – so I know where Bub is comming from. I still am not limping and the swelling is gone. I have been tested many times since Sunday and each time I proclaim aloud that I have been healed through the power of Jesus Christ and that Jesus Christ IS The Lord. I recognize all the gifts I have received in my life and that they come from the one true God and I continue to thank and praise Him.

  4. God is so good! I was so encouraged by James 5:17 and the message that “Elijah was a man “just like us”. While that is still hard to grasp, the message is clear, we ought pray big and with great expectation of what God will do. Ed, I think our church really benefited from me sharing what you said about us finishing a prayer time by saying, “let me know how that goes for you”…How right it is that we pray and expect God to show up…that we pray anticipating that we will see the miraculous. We are so blessed to worship a God who still today desires to make himself known very evidently in our lives. I want more!


Leave a Reply

Categories

